On Monday Mr Tsang organised and accompanied four, Year 8 pupils: James Forshaw; Olivia Harrald; Matthew Hill and Matthew Eaves to the UKMT finals at Westminster Hall in London. Many thanks to Mr Tsang for giving up so much of his time to enable the pupils to have this experience.  It is the first time we have ever had a team make it through to a national final and the pupils were absolutely fantastic and conducted themselves superbly.  Thank you also to Miss Folan who also looked after the pupils and supported them on the day.  An exceptional performance from the pupils; we are all very proud of you!

On Tuesday our pupils took part in the Wigan Schools Athletics competition at Leigh Sports Village. I am proud to announce that we were crowned champions for the 2nd year in a row! Both the boys and girls teams topped their competitions and the school won the overall competition - a fantastic three trophies have come back to Eddies!  There were some outstanding performances throughout all the teams and congratulations must go to all of the pupils representing school.  A special mention goes to Laura Hickey in Year 9 who won a gold medal in each of the three events she participated in; an amazing clean sweep!

On Friday I had the privilege of attending the Year 7 Spelling Bee finals in the hall. Thanks particularly to Mrs Taylor, Mrs Lomiiko and the English teachers for the superb organisation and hard work with all the pupils.  The standard was particularly high, (I’m glad I wasn’t on the stage!!) with some very challenging spellings being thrown at the pupils.  In a nail-biting contest, the winning team was Owen and the top speller for Year 7 was Matthew Duffy. Congratulations to the winners but also to all the pupils who took part.  The event was a great success and the pupils really enjoyed themselves, if the cheers at the end were anything to go by! I think they could be heard cheering in science!

Miss Gallagher continues to report excellent efforts from Year 7 pupils. The achievement points totals for this week were: in third place Patrick Harrison and Zoe Hilton, in second place, James Kearney, Isobel Banks, Michael Griffiths and Niamh Williams and in first place was James Stout.  Congratulations and keep up the good work!


Posted by Mrs G Taylor on 29 June 2016

Category: Blog Archive 2015-2016